Date: 3rd June 2016 at 7:26pm
Written by:

Watford have today confirmed the retained and released list for the coming 2016/17 season.

Swedish defender Joel Ekstrand has been informed he won’t be receiving a new offer this summer and he will officially depart when his contract expires at the end of the month.

Having moved to the club back in 2012, he made 100 appearances in his four year spell, scoring twice.

The club have however taken the option they held on Alex Jakubiak and the 19 year old stays for another season following a good year in the Under 21 side.

Fellow under 21 players, George Byers, Josh Doherty, Matt Hall, Uche Ikpeazu, Jorell Johnson, Mahlondo Martin, Bernard Mensah, Luke Simpson and Alfie Young have all been released though.

Second year scholars Andrew Eleftheriou, Nathan Gartside, Brandon Mason, Rhyle Ovenden, Charlie Rowan and Connor Stevens have all been offered professional contracts after an impressive year in the title winning Under 18 side, but Jacob Cook and Max Makaka will leave Watford at their end of their scholarships.

watford Bloggers

Join The Vital Debate