Date: 8th June 2017 at 5:42pm
Written by:

Watford’s retained list has been released, which has seen the departures of Rene Gilmartin and Mathias Ranegie announced.

Goalkeeper Gilmartin and forward Ranegie both leave at the end of their Watford deals. However, U23 players Andrew Eleftheriou, Brandon Mason, Connor Stevens and Carl Stewart have all been presented with fresh terms, it wasn’t confirmed, or denied for that matter, who had agreed new deals.

Fellow U23 players Ola Adeyemo, Charlie Bannister, Ogo Obi and Rhyle Ovenden aren’t being retained.

Second year Academy scholars, Joy Mukena, Dion Pereira, Louis Rogers and Max Ryan have each been offered professional contracts at Vicarage Road but Josh Roe and Treon Johnson will have to continue their footballing careers elsewhere, Watford are releasing them at the end of their scholarships.

A scholarship for goalkeeper Andrew Thomas is being taken up in America so he too is leaving this summer.

Commenting on the departing players the Official Website said: ‘Watford FC would like to wish all departing players the best of luck for the future, and thank them for their contributions while at Vicarage Road.’

Join The Vital Debate