Date: 31st July 2014 at 5:42pm
Written by:

The squad numbers for the 2014/15 Sky Bet Championship season have now been decided by the club and lodged with the Football League.

Of note is Daniel Tozser’s picking up of number 8, Juan Carlos Paredes going for number 14, and Keith Andrews selecting number 5.

In an unusual move, young versatile midfielder Luke O’Nien has opted for the number 2 shirt. Having played only a handful of minutes in one substitute appearance for the Hornets last season, his prominent squad number is something of a surprise.

New ‘keeper Heurelho Gomes will wear number 1 as expected, with new defenders Craig Catchcart and Gabriel Tamas picking up 15 and 17 respectively.

Matej Vydra will take his old number 20, with Diego Fabbrini moving to number 19.

New signings Lloyd Dyer and Odion Ighalo will wear 23 and 24 respectively.

Tommie Hoban retains his favoured number 31 shirt, with many of the youngsters on their first professional contracts taking numbers around the late twenties and early thirties.

The number 3 shirt has not been taken by any current member of the Watford squad and remains vacant.

The list in full is as follows:

1 Heurelho Gomes (GK)
2 Luke O`Nien
4 Gabriele Angella
5 Keith Andrews
6 Joel Ekstrand
7 Cristian Battocchio
8 Daniel Tozser
9 Troy Deeney
10 Lewis McGugan
11 Fernando Forestieri
12 Lloyd Doyley
13 Mathias Ranegie
14 Juan Carlos Paredes
15 Craig Cathcart
16 Sean Murray
17 Gabriel Tamas
18 Daniel Pudil
19 Diego Fabbrini
20 Matej Vydra
21 Ikechi Anya
22 Almen Abdi
23 Lloyd Dyer
24 Odion Ighalo
25 Uche Ikpeazu
26 Bernard Mensah
27 Josh Doherty
28 Connor Smith
29 Alex Jakubiak
30 Jonathan Bond (GK)
31 Tommie Hoban
32 George Byers
33 Jorell Johnson